UTS HABERFIELD

UTS Haberfield Club

Annual General Meeting Agenda of UTS Haberfield Club Ltd to be held at 1.00pm on Tuesday 21st May 2024 on Zoom <u>https://zoom.uts.edu.au/j/89305188737</u>

Present:

- 1. Cameron Kenney
- 2. Anna Bedford
- 3. Michael Gonzalez
- 4. Philip Wilkinson
- 5. Anna Chavez
- 6. Esther Agyeben
- 7. Aleen Pang
- 8. Matthew Haywood
- 9. Wen Qi Wu
- 10. Hannah Cerezo
- 11. Edsel Hosan
- 12. Pedro Leanza
- 13. Julianne Kim

- 14. Stephanie Papaioannou
- 15. Geoff McIntyre
- 16. Richard Stewart
- 17. Katy Glover
- 18. Aimee Purcell
- 19. Michael Hibberd
- 20. Terrin Gilday
- 21. Sharon Ward
- 22. Mimi Mimi
- 23. Sinclair Taylor
- 24. Leeanne Aubrey
- 25. Osman Segovia
- 26. Nori Beppu

1. ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF COUNTRY

The CEO acknowledged the Gadigal and Wangal people of the Eora nation and their elder's past, and present upon whose ancestral land and water the Club is situated.

2. WELCOMES & APOLOGIES

The CEO welcomed the Clubs members to the AGM and thanked them and the Board members for their attendance.

Apologies were received from the Chair and Mr Sinclair Taylor.

3. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS AGM

The minutes of the meeting held on 8th June 2023 were accepted as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

The members and the Board Directors endorsed the 2023 AGM minutes.

4. 2023 ANNUAL FINANCIAL REPORT

The CEO presented the 2023 Annual Financial Report, noting a year-end loss due to a management transition in the last quarter. Confidence remains in a new catering agreement expected to benefit the community and club.

Richard Steward asked about ActivateUTS' plan for Haberfield Club's \$593,000 debt mentioned in the financial report. The CEO explained it resulted from a loan for capital improvements and poker machines. ActivateUTS has written a guarantee for 12 months, prioritising Haberfield's stability.

The members and the Board Directors endorsed the financial report.

5. ELECTION OF MEMBERS

The Chair explained the structure of the Haberfield Board to the members, as per Rule 51 of the Club's Constitution, and the need to re-elect the positions:

The following six Eligible Members were elected as Directors of the Board:

- Anne Dwyer (Chair)
- Cameron Kenney (CEO)
- Associate Professor Anna Bedford (Treasurer)
- Michael Gonzalez (Board Director)
- Hannah Cerezo (Student Director)
- Edsel Hosan (Student Director)

The following Elected Member was elected by the Ordinary Members:

• Philip Wilkinson

The following UTS Rowing Club Incorporated Director was appointed by the Board:

• Sinclair Taylor

6. CHAIR'S UPDATE

The CEO updated on recent changes at the venue, including a new catering service by Dedes group. This has been positively received and is expected to provide consistent revenue, improving financial stability.

7. OTHER BUSINESS

Richard Steward raised concerns about Haberfield Club's raised membership fee, particularly for mainly university student rowers. The CEO acknowledged the concern, noting the specific reasons for the price adjustment and benefits alongside this, in line with similar NSW Clubs.